In West Bengal, 337 members vote for new President

1,581 MPs with criminal background will elect next President of India

Presidential Election 2017: Electors Are Using These Special Ink Pens to Cast Their Votes Today

Green-coloured ballot papers will be there for MPs and pink for MLAs.

"In order to enable such MLAs to cast vote during the current Presidential Election, the Commission has decided, in exceptional cases, to allow the MLA of any State to cast his/her vote at any State Headquarters other than his/her own if he/she applies for the Commission's permission well in advance", it added. The total value of votes of the electoral college is 10,98,903.

The pens for the presidential polls were introduced following a controversy that broke out during voting in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana in September 2016.

Upcoming Nokia's smartphones processors revealed in leaks
As in the news, the Nokia 6 is now available for purchase in India, both offline and through Amazon .in online. Amazon will give users Rs 1000 back for Prime Members in Amazon Pay Balance.

"It was a pleasure participating in the democratic process of the Presidential Election". He said while the sanctioned strength of the Lok Sabhaand the Rajya Sabha is 776, 771 MPs were eligible to cast their votes.

Mayawati also claimed it was because of her party that the NDA and the opposition had to field candidates from the community.

The arithmetic in the electoral college favours 72-year-old Kovind, who has received support from several key regional parties outside NDA-fold including Telugu Desam Party, Biju Janata Dal, Telangana Rashtra Samiti, and Janata Dal (U).

Oops: Kohli posts image of another female cricketer to congratulate Mithali Raj
The team will be hoping for the left-hander to get back to her blistering ways to set the platform for the innings. However, it was in the New Zealand National T20 final in 2015 where she announced herself to the televised public.

Interestingly enough, 32 out of the 34 Lok Sabha members and 11 of 12 Rajya Sabha members of the TMC will be casting their ballots at the polling booth in Vidhan Sabha in Kolkata rather than in Parliament. The victor can be announced earlier based on the parties' support. Three MPs – Badruddin Ajmal, Siraj Uddin Ajmal and Radheshyam Biswas – will cast their votes in the State Assembly. The minimum number required to elect the president is 5,49,442. She is the first woman Speaker of Lok Sabha (2009 to 2014) and also five time Member of Parliament. Gopalkrishna Gandhi, the joint Opposition candidate for the post, will file his nomination papers tomorrow. The NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind is yet to nominate any representative for the polling here.

Rejecting calls for a consensus, the opposition led by the Congress pitched veteran politician and former diplomat Meira Kumar's hat into the ring. He joined BJP in the year 1991 and served as National Spokesperson of BJP.

Police release sketch of Delphi suspect
Police say the sketch depicts a hat that may not be accurate, and they ask that the public focus on the person's facial features. More than $230,000 is offered in reward money for information leading to the arrest and conviction of the killer or killers.

Latest News